I’m Amazed

Another deep post for you!

So yesterday night I was just chilling and reading some Bible, and I was reading the story of Moses.

So basically, to sum it all up, the Israelites were in Egypt, working as slaves for the Egyptians. The Pharaoh saw that the Israelites were becoming too numerous, so he decided to put out a rule. The rule was: all male children were to be killed at birth (or something very similar and devastating to that). An Israelite woman, at that time, had a baby boy, and she decided to give him a future. She placed the baby boy in a basket and sent him down a river, while the boy’s older sister followed it. The basket landed where the Egyptian princess was, and he was adopted. He grew up safely in Egyptian hands, and one day, he realized the horrors that were happening to the Israelites and fled because he had accidentally killed an Egyptian that had been hurting an Israelite.

He leaves Egypt and ventures off. One day, he sees a burning bush, where God tells him to tell Pharaoh to let the Israelites go. Moses heads back and God tells him to perform miracles, because God would “harden Pharaoh’s heart”. At this point, I was confused.

Why would God harden Pharaoh’s heart if they wanted to let the Israelites leave? Why not soften his heart? I told myself to ask a friend if they knew why the next day.

Then I realized something so amazing that I was amazed. My LORD, my God, the one I talk to all the time and pray to for my tests and homework, was the same LORD then. The same LORD who spoke to Moses! How amazing is that? I take him for granted so much. He created the universe, and here I am complaining about my tests and classes, to the one who made everything.

This passage and realization really shined in my face. I could just ask God about why he hardened Pharaoh’s heart.

So, I asked God why he would harden Pharaoh’s heart, and he answered: to make him believe. I was really confused by that reply, but I soon realized that it was to make Pharaoh see the awesomeness of God.

Wow.

I’m definitely amazed at God.

Thank you Jesus!

-Mintie :D (the deep me)

P.S. If you want to know the whole story, check out Exodus, or watch The Prince of Egypt. I loved that movie. hehe

The video at the top is a scene where Moses deals with the bad guys with evil magic in the Prince of Egypt. Starts at 55 seconds.

Leave a Reply! Share your thoughts!

